Are you thinking about starting a career in real estate but unsure how you get started? We have put together five key steps you need to take to become a licensed real estate salesperson in the state of Virginia. Click here for the Five Steps to Becoming a Licensed Realtor.
Requirements for Obtaining a Virginia Real Estate Salesperson’s License
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have, at a minimum a high school diploma or its equivalent
- If licensed in another jurisdiction, be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed
- Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness and fair dealing and be competent to transact real estate business in such a manner as to safeguard the public interest.
- Not have been found guilty of violation the fair housing laws of Virginia or any other jurisdiction
- Meet the current education requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required courses before sitting for the licensing exam and applying for licensure (Currently a 60 classroom hour course in the Principles and Practices of Real Estate)
- Pass a written license examination approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board (VREB) with 12 months prior to applying for a license and follow all rules established by the VREB or the testing service regarding the conduct of license applicants. (Currently PSI Examinations is the state approved testing service)
- Be in good standing and not have had a real estate license suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action, of been the subject o disciplinary action in any jurisdiction
- Not have been convicted in any jurisdiction for a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense drug distribution physical injury or any felony
- Follow all rules established by the REB with regard to conduct at the examination
- Submit a set of fingerprints to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange and have a criminal background check performed. (Can be done at the PSI testing center on a walk-on basis)
The REALTOR® Association of Prince William is pleased to offer the required 60-hour Principles of Real Estate course that fulfills the educational requirement for initial licensure as a real estate sales person in Virginia. The course offers a unique educational experience for the real estate sales associate licensing candidate and goes beyond basic requirements to help prepare students for a career in real estate.
Dates: September 18, 19, 21, 25, 26, 28; October 2, 3, 5, 16, 17, 19, 23, 24, 26, 30; November 2, 6, 7
Time: 6:00 – 9:00 PM
Instructor: Mark Worrilow
Cost: $300 with textbooks included